Simplified hospital complaint procedure for victims of domestic violence: the French Ministry of Justice wins the Crystal Scales of Justice award from the Council of Europe


The French Ministry of Justice has just won the European Justice Crystal Scales Prize for a project entitled: “Simplified filing of complaints at the hospital for victims of domestic violence“.

The 2021 European “Crystal Scales of Justice” prize, organized by the Council of Europe and rewarding innovative judicial practices within European judicial institutions, was awarded to the French Ministry of Justice on October 1, 2021 in Ljubljana ( Slovenia), in the presence of Mr Zlatko Ratej, State Secretary at the Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Slovenia and of Mr Christophe Poirel, Director of Human Rights of the Council of Europe, as well as the members of the competition jury composed of eminent personalities in the field of justice (online and in person). This event was organized at the invitation of the Supreme Court of Slovenia, winner of the previous edition of the Prize (2019).

The “Simplified Filing of Complaints in Hospitals for Victims of Domestic Violence” project enables investigating authorities to receive complaints from victims of domestic violence directly to medical institutions. This system strengthens the protection of victims by offering them a simplified procedure, allowing them to lodge a complaint when and where the violence was reported. This system should be extended to the whole of France.

Special mentions were also awarded to the following two projects:

Representatives of the winning initiatives will be invited to present their project at the CEPEJ plenary meeting in early December 2021.

The initiatives awarded the Crystal Scales of Justice Prize will serve as subjects for Master 1 and Master 2 students of the Faculties of Law, either in the member states of the Council of Europe, or in those having observer status with the CEPEJ, who wish to participate in the recent launched the second edition of the Junior Crystal Scales of Justice Prize, for which applications will be received until 20 November 2021.

More information

Follow us on social media:

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.