USA and Canada host ice hockey final

The United States will face Canada in the women’s ice hockey final after the two favorites qualified for their semifinals at the Winter Olympics.

While the United States beat Finland 4-1, Canada made short work of semifinal opponents Switzerland, leading to a 10-3 rout on Monday.

The respective victories are a repeat of the 2018 Olympic final, which the United States won by a shootout.

Canada, however, were the strongest team in this tournament and beat the United States 4-2 in the group stage.

In fact, the Canadians – who have medaled at every Olympics since the introduction of women’s ice hockey in 1998 and won four consecutive golds between 2002 and 2014 – have scored 54 times, conceding only only eight goals in return.

“It’s our dream to be there, it’s huge for us,” said captain Marie-Philip Poulin, who is looking for her third Olympic gold medal. “It will be fun. The team is ready.

“We really appreciate it. The smiles at the end of the game, when our young players came off the ice, were quite impressive. You can see how exciting it is. It’s not routine.

Canada is hoping for another strong performance from its point guard in the final. In 2010, she scored both goals in a 2-0 win in the showpiece, while she also netted the golden goal winner in Sochi four years later.

History for Humphries

One athlete who may be torn apart by the United States-Canada rivalry is Kaillie Humphries.

She has won two golds and a bronze for Canada in the last three games, but in 2018 she switched allegiance to the United States, only being cleared to compete in Beijing in Beijing. two months ago.

On Monday, the 36-year-old made history by becoming the first woman to win a Winter Olympics title for two different nations, and the second overall athlete after speed skater Viktor An for Korea. of the South and Russia, after winning the first-ever gold medal. in the women’s monobob, a new event.

Elana Meyers Taylor completed a one-two for the United States, while Canada took bronze thanks to Christine de Bruin.

The French duo triumph on the ice

Four-time world champions Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron of France won gold in figure skating.

They won silver in 2018, meaning that for a third straight Olympics, the ice dance title was won by a duo who finished runners-up at previous Games.

Papadakis and Cizeron finished second to Victoria Sinitsina and Nikita Katsalapov at the European Championships in 2020, but the Russian pair had to settle for silver this time around, with Madison Hubbell and Zachary Donohue ensuring the United States finished on the podium for the fifth consecutive Games.

“It’s sinking, but before it sinks I’m going to have to lie on the ground and cry,” Papadakis said with a laugh after winning France’s first gold medal in the event since 2002. “I’m trying to figure it all out, very, very, very slowly.”

China and Austria complete their balance sheet

There was more success for hosts China, as ski jumper Xu Mengtao won the country’s first gold medal in the women’s aerial events in Beijing.

China had already won nine medals (seven silver and two bronze), but had never won gold – they were already the most decorated nation in the event.

Xu triumphed with a score of 108.61, ahead of Hanna Huskova of Belarus (107.95), with Megan Nick of the United States a distant third at 93.76.

Austria also won a gold medal in ski jumping, successfully for its men’s team. Slovenia came second and Germany took bronze. It is Austria’s first gold medal in this event since 2010.

Source link

Comments are closed.